EHR Meaningful Use Stage 2 Proposals Released


CMS and NC announce Stage 2 Meaningful Use requirements for electronic health records, focusing on interoperability, patient engagement, safety, and application design.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT (ONC) announced the proposed requirements for Stage 2 Meaningful Use and 2014 certification of electronic health records.

Following a 60-day comment period after the proposals are published to the federal register, the final rule is scheduled for release this summer.

The Stage 2 Meaningful Use proposed regulations stress greater interoperability among systems and health information exchange. This will allow providers to share information across organizational boundaries and disparate electronic health records.  Other areas of focus include patient engagement, patient safety and application design.

Feb 23 2012

Ready to learn more?

Contact us today to learn more about our healthcare data management solutions.

First Name *
Last Name *
Email *

Healthcare IT tips, guides, news & more delivered to your inbox

Sign me up